Malaysia boasts a well-developed transportation network, featuring a vast array of roads catering to locals and travelers alike. The nation’s road network remains impressive, stretching over 290,000 kilometers, which also includes a robust channel of expressways that exceed 2,000 kilometers in distance. As a result, you get access to high-speed connections between major cities.

The crowning jewel of the Malaysian road system is the iconic North-South Expressway, which traverses almost 800 kilometers and ultimately connects Singapore to the Thai border. And like any other southeast Asian country, Malaysia adheres to left-hand traffic, where drivers navigate the left lane and perform overtakes on the right. Additionally, similar to other developing nations, the country uses an electronic toll payment system on the expressways to ensure that traffic flow remains smooth and stress-free.

Malaysia also offers varying public transportation options, including buses, trains, and ride-hailing services. However, if you own a vehicle of your own and enjoy driving, then having a valid driving license is essential. And if the same requires a proper renewal, then our thorough guide can prove to be immensely helpful.

Steps to Follow For Renewal

There are two ways through which you can decide to renew your Malaysian driving license. These are the JPJ mySIKAP website, which is the official website for the Malaysian Road Transport Department, and the MyEG website, which is the newly launched electronic services website for the Malaysian Government.

If you are using the MyEG website, remember that you cannot renew Learner Driving Licenses (LDLs) and Probationary Driving Licenses (PDLs) via the MyEG website. Instead, you have to use the JPJ website or visit in person at any nearby JPJ office.

To start the renewal process, follow any of the suggested processes and their respective steps listed below.

Renewing via MyEG

  1. The first step involves heading over to the official website here.
  2. On the landing page, click on ‘Renew Driving License’ and you will be asked to sign in to your MyEG (1MID) account. If you do not have an account, you can always create one.
  3. Once you have signed in to your account, click on the ‘Renew Driving License’ option, and you will then be required to fill in all the required information. These include your name, address, identity information, vehicle class information, etc. Ensure that all the information provided is correct to the best of your knowledge.
  4. After that, you will be required to enter your payment information so that you can pay the renewal fees online.
  5. Once you have successfully made the payment, a confirmation message will be shown on your screen as well as sent to your registered email address. And within due time, you will receive your driving license on your doorstep.

Renewing via mySIKAP

  1. Visit the official JPJ mySIKAP website here.
  2. Click on ‘Category > Citizen’ and you will be redirected to a new web page.
  3. Proceed to login to the JPJ mySIKAP digital platform using your ID and password. After logging in, click on ‘Driver’s License > License Information’, and you will then be required to select your license type.
  4. Once you have selected your license type from the drop-down menu, the details of your driving license will be shown on your screen. However, remember that if the mySIKAP system does not show a photo of yours, then you need to visit a nearby JPJ office to submit your photo before you can continue to renew your driving license online.
  5. After that, select the ‘Renewal’ option, including its duration, and you will then be required to make the payment for the requisite renewal fees online.

Once your payment is successful, proceed to print the confirmation receipt and then take it with you to a nearby JPJ office to collect your physical driving license.

How to Contact For Help

For any further assistance, you can get in touch with the Department of Road Transport at the Ministry of Transport Malaysia, Level 3-5, No. 26, Jalan Tun Hussein, Precinct 4, Federal Government Administration Center, 62100 Putrajaya.

You can also reach them over the phone at 03 8000 8000, which is available between Monday and Thursday, from 7:45 AM to 1 PM and 2 PM to 5 PM, and on Fridays, from 7.45 AM to 12:15 PM and 2:45 PM to 5 PM.

Some Useful Information

Malaysia currently offers four types of driving licenses, namely Learner’s Driving License (LDL), Probationary Driving License (PDL), Competent Driving License (CDL), and Vocational License.

LDLs come with a maximum period of two years, while PDLs come with two years and a grace period of one year for upgrading to CDLs. On the other hand, CDLs have a validity of up to ten years, with a grace period of three years for renewals. Overshooting the grace period for upgrades or renewals will lead to a restart of the driving lesson procedures.

Additionally, the required documents for renewal include your original MyKad document or passport (for foreign nationals) and your original driving license. If the transaction is done by a representative, then you will need to present photocopies of the aforementioned documents along with the original identity document of the representative.

Categorized in:

How-to Guides,

Last Update: April 1, 2024